My sabbatical year

The year 2013-14 was one of change and re-orientation. I went to Michigan to visit family as my father had been ill during the past year. When I returned to Montreal, I began exploring areas of professional interest and upgrading my skills:

Archival and Records Management were specializations entirely new to me.  In Archival Principles and Practice, I learned about the postmodern  archival mandate of archives which today highlight “process rather than product, becoming rather than being, dynamic rather than static, context rather than text, reflecting time and place rather than universal absolutes – these have become the postmodern (context) for analyzing and understanding (archival) science.”

Having had experience in proposal development and fund-raising, I considered furthering this skill. The course, « Recherche, analyse et gestion de l’information et des données », part of the Certificat en gestion philanthropique at the Université de Montréal examined how to work with donor information to identify new prospects, map donor relationships, define various levels of giving, relationship management, and analytics. This knowledge could be useful in the right context.

I discovered Concordia University’s Centre for Oral History and Digital Storytelling and began taking their workshops: Oral History Interviewing, a seminar on Ethics in Human research, and conferences by creative oral historians. Oral History aims to capture and preserve stories from an individual perspective for local history for archives.

Finally, I continued to improve my français écrit through the Program de francisation du Ministère de l’Immigration, Culture et Communication du Québec.

This entry was posted in Professional Experience and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

